FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions:

Consumers often have similar questions at all different stages of their vehicle purchase. We have compiled a list of the most frequently asked questions below. If you have a question that is not listed here or would like more information, please do not hesitate to call one of our dedicated team members. 

What kind of warranty will I get with my purchase?

Massachusetts is one of the few states that provides a Lemon Law warranty to the buyer. The Lemon Law protects you if the car you bought through a Massachusetts dealer has serious defects.

a. 90 days or 3,750 miles, whichever comes first (for vehicles with fewer than 40,000 miles on the odometer at the time of sale.
b. 60 days or 2,500 miles whichever comes first (for vehicles with 40,000 to 79,999 miles on the odometer at the time of sale.
c. 30 days or 1,250 miles whichever comes first (for vehicles with 80,000 to 124,999 miles on the odometer at the time of sale.

What services do you perform on the vehicle before purchase?

Direct Auto Team is very conscientious when it comes to the safety and drivability of every car on our lot. We perform a thorough inspection on each vehicle and repair all major safety and maintenance concerns. On average we invest $850 per car to ensure a high quality product and all of our vehicles come with a repair order. We NEVER deliver a vehicle to a customer without servicing it first. 

How much is your standard documentation fee and what does it cover?

Our standard documentation fee is $495.  This is a non-negotiable fee and every customer is required to pay it.

The documentation fee, also known as a "doc fee", offsets the costs incurred by the dealership in processing various paperwork associated with a sale that are separate from those paid to acquire the vehicle.

The doc fee recognizes some of the costs related to a dealer's compliance with federal and state laws and regulations that provide for safety, consumer protection, anti-theft measures, vehicle history checks, notifications, certifications, and official filings.

What other fees can I expect?

Fees include taxes, title, registration, and documentation charges.  Massachusetts collects 6.25% of the sales price of the vehicle from all customers.  The State of Massachusetts also charges to title a vehicle $75, new plates are $60 and to transfer plates is $25. If your vehicle is registered in Massachusetts, you will need to have a state inspection done within 7 days of your purchase, this is not included or provided by Direct Auto Team.  The cost of the Massachusetts state inspection is $35.

Do you accept credit cards?

We will accept up to $2,000 total on a credit card toward the purchase of a vehicle.

Can I get a mechanic check?

Under no circumstances is a customer allowed to take a vehicle to a mechanic check without a deposit and signed purchase agreement.

Can you hold a vehicle that I am interested in buying?

Direct Auto Team will hold a vehicle for up to 48 hours with a $300 deposit. If the vehicle is not paid in full within that time, the $300 deposit will be refunded and the vehicle will be re-listed for sale.

Does every vehicle come with a full tank of gas?

The majority of our vehicles come with a half tank of gas.